New to Hammers

Poor_choices

Hello everyone!

The quick version here is that I've been reloading for about 25 years now and have done a ton of experimenting with a pretty good variety of bullets, cartridges, and platforms. I worked with a close friend for a few years during some pretty extensive bullet testing he did, which included a pile of different Hammer bullets. I think he posted a lot of that information around the web under the screen name Yorketransport on most sites, but I could never keep up with what he was doing! LOL

He was always pushing Hammers, I just never got around to trying them. I ended up with almost all of his firearms and reloading gear when he passed about a year ago and I'm finally getting time to go through it and see what's there. He had boxes of Hammers ranging from 6mm up through .458, and loaded ammo in 14 different chamberings! It'll take me a while to figure out what he was up to, but he left a pretty detailed load book and a lot of notes. I may swing by here to fact check some of his info every once in a while.

I don't hunt much anymore just because I don't have time, but I may dig out one of his weird guns for a bear hunt just for fun one of these seasons. I know he was trying to get a bear with one of his 338 pistols and a Hammer bullet for years!

Todd

Welcome Poor_choices

You have inherited one heck of a collection! I didn’t know Yorke but read a lot of his posts on the old forum. He definitely had a desire to collect, load and test many different cartridges and pills. I’m guessing you will be overwhelmed trying to get through all of his information. I know he was doing a lot of gel tests. I’d love to hear if he had any notes about translating gel performance to animal performance.

Sorry for your loss
Kneedeep

Welcome Poor_choices