Powder contamination

littlebighorn

Hammer Time Executive member
On a boring cold evening, here is a question for all you "experts" at handloading. (a group of which I can not be identified) 😏

At best I am a hack reloader even though I've been doing it for 50 years. My work space has never exceeded the size of a carnival cruise bathroom, and I'm not the tidiest gent on the planet. So at times I might have kernels of multiple different powders on my bench. Undoubtedly through a spill or mental laps a kernel or two of a different powder COULD find it's way into a load. (undoubtedly has at some point).
So my question is, how much can a kernel or two of contamination make a significant difference in my load? Obviously the more contamination the worse it gets but where do you suppose the tipping point is?
I'm sure there are lots of variables, but I'd love to hear your thoughts, especially you scientific chemical engineer reloading geeks.

I keep a few empty 1lb bottles marked "Pulled Varget, H4350" etc. and any powder I'm not sure of it's purity I put in those. Then, if I need to do any foulers, low pressure loads or practice loads I use this powder since I know it's well under any pressure concerns.
As long as you're under a few % and the powders you're loading aren't wildly different burn rates I don't think it's an issue. Just don't use any mixed powder in hot loads that are already on the edge of or show pressure signs.

Last edited:
littlebighorn

On a very warm humid evening. I send you a reply.😉

About 10-12 years ago I mistakenly created a pound and a half of Muzzleloader only powder. I was checking the difference between H4198 and IMR4198 and mistakenly poured my dispenser into the wrong CONTAINER 🥴 Since the burn rates were so close, I marked the container and have used it ever since for muzzleloader only you're not the only hack. I should have enough to last me.

Look up duplex loads. Not really the same but you might find it an interesting read.

Joe