This is what I would like to know from seasoned Hammer hunters

Is the 122gr HHT, appropriately loaded, from a 270 Weatherby mag (1-10" twist) going to humanly kill an elk inside of 500 yards? Lets just assume it is a well placed broadside shot on a bull elk, or would the 124gr HH be a better choice. I know there is no perfect answer but I am hoping to be as well prepared as I can be for my first elk hunt. I've never had a problem killing whitetail but this is a different animal and I am a rookie. In fact I've yet to load a Hammer!

I took a 131 HHH on my first ever elk hunt last year. I didn’t get a shot, but I had supreme confidence in the bullet doing the job.
122 HHT
3400 mv (looks easily achievable)
= >2300 impact velocity @ 500 yds
As long as your barrel is a TRUE 10 twist (measure it!), I believe you could have supreme confidence.

Gday Rex
Thankyou for installing confidence in me that people are looking @ this from a ethical position first

That’s the hardest thing to do in the world of the so called perfect shots we see today & why I love this place as we accept the crap happens & try to lesson it

By you looking @ it this way you have done just that
Tip my hat sir

Now the pill choice & no first hand experience with that particular one
but what I do know is the hht covers more bases than any other pill design
Then some guys have used the 117hh on elk with pretty impressive results
You lowest velocity impact @500 is in a really good impact range
If it’s a 3400 impact & in a knuckle no need to worry as the hammer alloy will ouch through

So to me you’ve covered as many bases as you can & time to get a packet & work them up ( LTT verify twist is important first ) which the guys here will be more than willing to help out with that process as hammers are a little different to load if we wish as saves components compared to what way a lot of us use to do

Cheers