Vertical stringing update

Poc

Well…I thought the problem was identified when I found the windage screws really loose on my base. So I went back to the range and found the same 3 shot vertical stringing of 1.75”.I decided to switch from a Federal 215 primer to a 210 primer on the suggestion of others and the group was still vertical, but .60”!

I’ve had some recent experiences with loading Hammers that I would like to bounce off of some of you experts. A few weeks ago I was loading 3 different size hammers in 3 different 300 win mags. I didn’t correct my seating die between loads and seated one of the bullets 30 thousands too deep. I decided I would try to lightly tap the bullet puller in hopes I could ease it forward just enough as to not fall out and re-seat at the correct depth before using the Lee FCD. I’ve used he bullet puller on standard cup and core bullets and it usually takes several good whacks to dislodge the bullet. That light tap was all it took to cause the 165 PH to completely fall out. Surprised at how easy the bullet came out, I attempted to see if I could push the bullet back in with my fingers, and I could do it with only a moderate amount of force! The bullet did act like a mandrel. I’m using 2x Lapua brass annealed with neck tension of .002. Since then I have been crimping 1/2 turn with more consistent results and pay more attention to where the crimp lies in the groove.

I think what happened with this vertical stringing issue is that despite my firm 1/2 turn on the crimp die, the charge on the 215 Federal primer was initiating too quickly of powder burn for 73 grains of H4350 and the bullet was leaving too erratically?