6-284 Stand Gun and a little 6BRX info

darkeagle10x

I had a thread on the old board about a project rifle in 6-284 specifically for a stand deer rifle. It was lost when the forum was updated so I will try and remember some of what was in the old thread and post current status.

I'm a huge fan of the 284 so this has been on my "someday" list forever. I've been running the 88 grain HH in my two 6BRX rifles (just over 3100 fps) on deer for a couple years and loved it. The goal was to run the same 6mm 88 grain HH and see how speed was, then shorten the barrel for better handling in the blind and see how much loss I had. The rifle had one purpose; to hunt deer from an elevated blind with a maximum shot distance of 450 yards with no dialing (meaning it would be flat enough to hold on at any distance I could shoot there).

As a custom rifle builder, I had pretty much what I needed in inventory. Build components: Solus receiver, Bartlein barrel 8T, MBM brake, McMIllan A5 adjustable stock, removable mag, Steiner scope, and TriggerTech trigger.

I already had dies from god only knows where or when I had picked them up and just needed a reamer. I decided to rent a reamer and jump in.

I started with the barrel length of 26" and load work was a breeze. I tried Varget but didn't get the speed I was hoping for. Using Quickload, I saw RL16 looked good so I loaded that up and had good results. I was able to get to 3700 fps with very slight pressure so I backed down one grain to get 3610 fps. It has very mild recoil and you can watch the impact. I sighted in a PB range of 275 and gave me a flat shooter to 400 with a little hold-over, could get the 450 without dialing though I could easily dial what I needed for that rare longer shot.

That is the abridged edition of the old thread as best I can remember.