First Focal Plane or Second Focal Plane

Trubkir17

Hammer Time Executive member
I am just getting into some higher end optics. A discussion around the watercooler this morning degraded quickly when this topic was brought up. I believe I am using SFP scopes right now but what is the big deal with FFP scopes. Hopefully we won't have near fist fights about this topic.

Preference. Usually breaks down to
hunting vs target range estimating?

FFP generally used for target range estimating.
SFP generally used for hunting.

But really comes down to preference. Shooting zoomed out seeing crosshairs with FFP can be challenging but bonus is holdovers are static.

SFP cross hairs adjust easier to see across zoom range but negative hold overs will need to be modified depending on zoom magnification.

Dialing per target won’t matter since most dialed shots are zoomed in.

Engaging multiple targets on one string FFP has its bonus.

Consider a theoretical - 2 scopes - identical in every way, except for the position of reticle:

The SFP scope can do EVERYTHING the FFP scope can,

EXCEPT the reticle is only 'correct' at a specific magnification. (Sometimes at max magnification, sometimes at 10x depending on the scope).

Lots of hunters like this because the reticle stays the same size when they change magnification.

The only advantage the FFP scope has is that the reticle is correct throughout the magnification range. Lots of shooters like this because the reticle's angular subtentions can be used at ANY magnification. The downside is that the reticle appears to shrink or grow with changes in magnification.

I own and use both. SFPs are often lighter and more portable, but 'all things equal' my preference leans toward the FFPs

Well stated.