Mountain lion hunting strategy

Koda

Hammer Time Executive member
I'm new to lion hunting so wide open to all advice, in the off chance anyone here has experience I'm all ears and would love to hear.

Note: I'm in Oregon so we cant use dogs, we can use calls including electronic.
One of the spots I hunt Blacktail has a very large cat, but its been a year since I hunted that spot. I went back last weekend to check on things and found a very large tall scratch up a small cedar snag.

First question, Is this a cat scratch/ "claw rake"? 47in tall rifle for scale, the scratches go up above 6ft or more.
1699809326145.jpeg

Never seen one, heard of such, checked internet, and it looks like probably cat scratch.

I haven't successfully called one. So there is that.

Just for conversation, some leftover thoughts from chasing with hounds. Maybe @Rausch can help I think he chases them seriously.

1) Location. Best way is fresh snow, if possible circle the area to make sure its still in the area.
2) Lots of cats living in close to people don't get crazy about being remote.
3) Watch for Ravens etc. We've started races when there wasn't snow by finding kills.
4) I'd call until batteries started to wind down.
5) Good camo. Face and hands. Turkey hunters get a few here.
6) Decoy or perhaps something shiny that flitters about.
7) Get Lucky!

Best Wishes! Really hoping you succeed!

Never seen one, heard of such, checked internet, and it looks like probably cat scratch.

I haven't successfully called one. So there is that.

Just for conversation, some leftover thoughts from chasing with hounds. Maybe @Rausch can help I think he chases them seriously.

1) Location. Best way is fresh snow, if possible circle the area to make sure its still in the area.
2) Lots of cats living in close to people don't get crazy about being remote.
3) Watch for Ravens etc. We've started races when there wasn't snow by finding kills.
4) I'd call until batteries started to wind down.