New rifle, first round set up

19dsniper

I just got in my Howa super lite in 6.5 needmore. Let the flaming begin. Lol

I checked and re-torqued scope base, rings, etc. Mounted a Vortex Razor LHT 3-15.
Cleaned bore with Boretec carbon remover and then Cu2 copper remover.
Then 2 oiled patches and 4 dry patches.

Loaded up a ladder with 125 HHT starting with 38.5 varget in 0.5 gr. Increments up to 41.0 grains.

Loaded up a ladder with 125 HHT starting with 41.0 of H4350 to 43.5 grains in 0.5 grain increments.

These are 1 round each to test for pressure and velocity. Currently running 0.002 neck tension (its all I have till my lee crimp die gets here) COAL set at 2.680"

I have 2 rounds loaded up at 39.0 grains as foulers/ sighters to get me close to zero before I start the work up.

What am I missing other than heading to the range? I've been reloading for 20+ years, but everything I've read keeps saying that we need to re-learn how to reload with the hammers.

My plan was to go shoot these test ladders tomorrow. Total of 13 rounds for 2 powders.
Log velocity while watching for pressure.
Find pressure, back off half a grain, then load a few more at that charge weight and test for accuracy and try to dial it in with the crimp die that should be here tomorrow night.

Am I going about this the right way?

Any advice is more than welcome. A little teasing is fine too. I feel like a noob all the sudden. Haha

I have read thru the reloading stuff and also the load data. That's where this info is basically coming from, it's just different than my normal loading procedure and I wanted to double check if im missing a step or should try something else, or different.

Last edited: