Thoughts on hammer hunters 180 vs 196

Griz406

Hey everyone,

I am new to reloading and Hammer bullets and currently trying to decide on the 180 or 196 hammer hunters. Currently, I cannot find really anything that my rifle likes to shoot. Powders I have on hand are H4350, H4831sc and H1000. Primers are CCI 250, Nosler Brass. Just wondering what I could try with either bullet with what I have or if their is anything I could do. I’m really hoping to find accuracy. Any ideas, thoughts or reviews would be greatly appreciated.

Rifle
Christensen Arms Ridgeline .300 Win Mag 1:10 twist

Neither would be my choice for that rifle. I would go with the 166gr HH or lighter. Some people are loading the 124gr HH with great success. I personally would look at the 137, 160 or 166. I would use the H4350 to start and see what happens.

I think the 180 or 196 will be hard to stabilize......I know the 196 will be hard to stabilize and will likely be to long for your mag / application.

Thank you @jrebel and @HARPERC for your knowledge and help. I really appreciate it. I will look at the lighter bullets to start with a load to develop. I was hoping the 300 win mag with 1:10 twist would be able to stabilize the 180 HH. My rifle seemed to like the 180 gr range compared to the heavy bullets (200+) . I would like to hunt in the 300-600 yard range and capabilities up to 800. I’m new to reloading so sorry if what I’m asking isn’t realistic or off. Thank you both again with the help.