Very short barrel 6.5CM Question

Anthropas

Hi all,

New member here. I am working on a plan to hunt whitetails with family on a relative's farm this upcoming fall. It's in the slug only zone of south western MN. However, they do allow pistols to be used during this season and there are not caliber restrictions (at least that I can find). I have a CVA Scout V2 pistol in 6.5CM. It has a 14" barrel. I have not confirmed the twist rate yet, but assume it to be 1:8. I'm new to Hammer bullets and am looking for advice on bullet and powder suggestions given the very short barrel. I assume I should be leaning towards the lighter weight bullets to get the velocity up and use faster burning powders as well. However all our shots are less than 100 yards on the farm. I am not concerned about BC, SD or ES at these ranges, just accuracy and whatever makes sense for terminal performance given these parameters.

Thanks for your help/advice!

Welcome aboard, @Anthropas !

I think your intuition is good on the lighter bullets and I like the 92gr Power Hammer for your use case;

The flat base and greater number of drive bands might be a little more forgiving, accuracy wise,

Given the short barrel and 100yd range limit, I think the larger hollow point in the Power Hammer might be the most emphatic and forgiving when it comes to distance traveled after the shot, but just a guess there as I have no experience with the 92PH myself.

A friend of mine was having bad luck with his Creedmoor - one year he had a GMX pencil and almost lost his deer. The next year he had a Powerpoint blow up on the shoulder and fail to penetrate.

Somewhat dismayed, he asked me for a recommendation "What do I have to do? Go back to .308win?!"

I loaded up some 99gr Hammer Hunters over Varget for him, and the rest his history. He's taken a handful of deer with it and couldn't be happier. "The deer was facing me at 200ish yards. Did a backflip when I hit it and never twitched."

99sHHank.jpeg