Pressure Signs with starting loads

russm86

I'm new to Hammer bullets, but have about 15 years maybe more reloading experience and have a pretty good idea of what I'm doing generally and no stranger to mono bullets in general. Have developed numerous loads with minimal published data etc or using quickload and so on and never had any issues. Now I seem to be having issues with these hammer bullets. I have 2 different rifles, a 7mm PRC and 6.5 Creed, using different powders and obviously different calibre & weight of bullets, the only similarity being both using hammer hunter bullets, and both seem to be showing pressure signs (flattened primers, ejector marks, and sticky bolt) nearly right from the suggested starting load data taken from Hammer bullets website.

In the 6.5 Creed with 110gr Hammer Hunters, I tried the suggested CFE223 load from hammer website load data and I was 200fps slower than stated for starting load and bolt was sticky right off the bat even though I wasn't seeing ejector marks or flattened primers. Now, the 20" barrel on these rifles MAY account for this but still seems like a large difference. I will add this is a previously "unproven" rifle but is factory Howa superlite and haven't seen/heard any issues with them. Since I wasn't seeing the pressure signs on the brass I did creep up a couple more grains but bolt lift just got progressively stickier so called it quits.