270 Win Hand Load Development 117gr Hammer Hunter

Precision

Hello All, Working on hand loads for my 270. Rifle has 1:10 twist, 22" barrel. Loaded 50 pieces of new Nosler brass with .001-.002 neck tension with H4350 and Staball 6.5, mostly following the Hammer FCD recommendations published by Butterbean over on LRH. My rifle has shot 130gr factory loads well in the past, so I loaded up some ttsx 130gr and some 117gr hammer hunters. Large Magnum primers. Playing with seating depth a bit, tried to minimize jump but also put the rim on a valley on both bullets. FCD +1/8T on all. Shot prone over a chronograph at 100 yards. Results below.

I was approaching max published loads cautiously, looking for cratering or heavy bolt lift. I’m new to this, but I don’t think I hit pressure at all, so will load more powder ladders soon. Also noted that the HH 117gr should be moving faster than 130gr, so I interpreted this as needing to start with more neck tension with hunters. Resized with a bushing die, and next batch will have .004 neck tension.

My data also shows that h4350 is working well, and I need to reduce jump further to maximize performance.

Please let me know if any suggestions!

Thanks, Jay

IMG_0141.jpeg
IMG_0140.pngIMG_0138.jpeg
Correlation heatmap
IMG_0139.png

Last edited:
What Butterbean said. Also, with the Staball6.5 and 117hh, your speeds are about right, given the charge weight. I'd keep going in one grain increments until about 57.5 then go to 0.5. There usually is a node around 59gr and 3330 -3350fps. This is with fed 215 mag primers and crimped in the first valley behind the bullet shoulder. You may get there a bit sooner with the cci's. As usual watch and feel for pressure signs. There is a good thread on here about looking for pressure signs and might be good to read.

.004 neck interference anseat the bullet until there are no PDR bands showing, crimp on the last PDR groove