Hammer .35 Whelen data

Ought 6

Hammer Time Executive member
Not trying to ruffle any feathers here, and you all know I am new to these bullets. But I have to say the .35 Whelen load data here is puzzling to me. I've worked up starting loads for 4 cartridges using the data on this website, a couple of other sources and my own experience. .308, 338-06AI and .338WM were all fairly straight forward, I could look at the data here and compare with loads I have worked up with other bullets and make some sense of it as far as powder selection starting loads and the listed max loads. With the .35 Whelen data here, not at all with bullets in the 250gr weight class. What happened to the need for speed LOL? Nothing over 2500 fps listed. I have Whelen loads pushing 2700 fps with 250gr bullets with no issues and great accuracy. Powder choices here are very different from what works for me with other 250gr bullets in the Whelen. Also some very short C.O.A.L.s were used with heavy bullets. Why please!

Last edited:
I haven't played with this heavy bullet in my new 35 Wheeling but from looking at the data I would start with IMR 4895 and when (if) you run out of case room I would switch to imr4198. Reloader 7 would also be a powder that might be worth giving a try.

Joe

I really want to work with IMR4895 but don't have any on hand and everyone is out of stock right now.

I am working up loads for the 35 Whelen using A2000-MR and CFE223 with the 245gr Shock Hammer. My starting load with 2000-MR was 61gr, 2602 fps. With CFE223 59 gr, 2591 fps. COL of 3.250 for both. Norma brass, WLRM primers. Zero pressure signs with either, I'll be surprised if I don't get over 2700 fps with the 2000-MR. In my experience with other bullets in the 35 Whelen 2000-MR ends up being the better choice with heavier bullets. CFE 223 is better below 225 gr.