HHT vs HH/AH Terminal Performance

pgaines

I am new to using Hammer Bullets, so far I am thrilled with them....super easy to build a load too and crazy accurate. I have a good friend who has been using Hammers for the past 3+ years, and the biggest hesitation for myself have been the smallish hollow point. Once the HHT's came out it really intrigued me to try them.

I have only taken an antelope (300yds) and mule deer (550yds) with my 7PRC using 170 HHT. Bullet performed great, yet I am still curious for those of you who have taken game with BOTH the new HHT and HH or AH, preferably elk or moose. How do they compare? In my assumption based on the starting size of the hollow point, the HHT is expanding earlier and potentially disrupting the vitals a lot more. How are heavy bone strikes affecting the HHT's? Do they seem to open a little too much too soon with less than normal penetration or are they still "Hammering" thru?

I would really like to see a good ballistic gel test against the two bullets...now that would be something to see.