Rifle stock picture

Mountainman - I really like your new bottom line, "The 30-06 is never a mistake." You have inspired me! It is time for me to do a complete refresh on mine. It is an Ackley Improved version. I was a broke graduate student in Portland. My future father-in-law introduced me to a Mr. Howley. He was a local gunsmith who was older than I am now. He was having trouble due to losing some of his strength. He wanted to retire, but had several jobs to get done, about 6 months worth. We bargained. If I would help in his shop two days a week till he was done, he would pay me with a customized action and barrel ready to go on a stock. He talked me out of a left handed Brazilian Mauser that he had. I ended up with a Remington 700 squared and trued by him, and a Douglas supreme barrel 26 inches long with a Weatherby blue. My other part-time job in graduate school was working at a high end refinishing shop. I found a really nice piece of Myrtlewood and that is what I made the stock out of. I have shot 90 percent of my big game with this gun. I think it needs some love! Thanks for the inspiration Mountainman. Time to breakout the sandpaper.
Myrtle1.jpgMyrtle2.jpg